Old Testament

Old Testament scholarship is concerned with the texts which represent the first and earlier part of the Christian canon. These texts are traditional material of various origins, which was handed down in oral and written form over a very long period of time.

The aim of Old Testament scholarship is to describe this process of growth and to reconstruct the meaning or, respectively, the change of meaning that this material has undergone in the course of this process.

Within the academic discipline of theology, Old Testament scholarship has a crucial function in that it asserts the historical character of the Old Testament texts as employed within the Christian and non-Christian traditions and offsets attempts at unreflecting appropriation of the material.

Old Testament scholarship is divided into a number of sub-disciplines, some of which have developed into independent scholarly disciplines as a result of the trend towards academic specialisation: these include Biblical Archaeology, History of Ancient Israel, History of Old Testament Literature and Theology, History of the Religion of Ancient Israel within the context of the religious history of the ancient Near East and Hebraic Studies.

Biblical Archaeology

Biblical Archaeology explores the archaeology of the region of the southern Levant from the beginnings of the first settlements in the Stone Age to the Ottoman era. There is a close interdisciplinary connection to the other disciplines within the field of ancient oriental archaeology.



Archaeological scholarship provides us with a completely autonomous route of access to the historical realities behind the Biblical texts. It thus enables us to evaluate the written material and to more clearly and precisely determine the perspectives and intentions guiding these texts.

Altes Testament

Gegenstand der alttestamentlichen Wissenschaft sind die zum Alten Testament, dem ersten und älteren Teil des christlichen Kanons, gehörenden Schriften. Bei diesen Schriften handelt es sich um Traditionsgut unterschiedlicher Herkunft, das über sehr lange Zeiträume hin mündlich und schriftlich überliefert wurde.
Die Aufgabe der alttestamentlichen Forschung ist es, diesen Wachstumsprozess zu beschreiben und den Sinn bzw. den Sinnwandel nachzuzeichnen, den das Traditionsgut im Laufe dieses Prozesses erfahren hat.
Innerhalb der Theologie nimmt die alttestamentliche Wissenschaft zugleich eine kritische Aufgabe wahr, insofern sie die historische Eigenart der alttestamentlichen Schriften gegenüber der christlichen wie außerchristlichen Tradition und gegenüber einer unreflektierten Vereinnahmung zur Geltung bringt.

Die alttestamentliche Wissenschaft kommt ihrer Aufgabe in einer Reihe von Teildisziplinen nach, die sich im Zuge einer zunehmenden Spezialisierung zum Teil als eigenständige wissenschaftliche Disziplinen etabliert haben. Es sind dies die Biblische Archäologie, die Geschichte des antiken Israel, die Literatur- und Theologiegeschichte des Alten Testaments, die Religionsgeschichte des antiken Israels innerhalb einer Religionsgeschichte des Alten Orients sowie die Hebraistik.

Biblische Archäologie

Die biblische Archäologie betreibt die archäologische Erforschung der südlichen Levante von den Anfängen erster Siedlungen in der Steinzeit bis in die osmanische Zeit hinein. Mit den anderen Teilgebieten der altorientalischen Archäologie besteht eine enge interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit.

Die archäologische Forschung ermöglicht eine völlig eigenständige Zugangsweise zu den historischen Realitäten, die die biblischen Texte widerspiegeln; sie ermöglicht es damit, die Textaussagen zu kontrollieren und die Perspektive und Aussageabsicht, die die Texte leiten, schärfer und genauer zu bestimmen.